Club History

Where it all began

The Beaconsfield Junior Football Club is a sub branch of the Beaconsfield Football Club. The “Junior” section of the Club started in 1972 with one team and has expanded rapidly with the growth in the district. The “Junior” Club now fields 26 teams from U8’s through to U17’s and including 3 Youth Girl teams from U12, U15 & U18′s. We belong to the South East Junior (SEJ) League.

Club History – supplied by Lawrie Canning

On the 21 April 1890, at a public meeting held at Bissington’s Hotel, Beaconsfield (now the Central Hotel), it was agreed to form a football club. A team representing the Town of Beaconsfield played two matches that year, the first against Cranbourne on the 20 June 1890, which was won by Cranbourne. (Information courtesy of the Mornington Herald of that year)

Beaconsfield Football Team 1909Details are very sketchy after this, but photos of Beaconsfield teams of 1909, 1926 & 1931 indicate that the club was competing during these early years. In the Thirties the club played in the District competition against clubs as far flung as Pakenham, Gembrook, Clayton, Ferntree Gully and Belgrave. At this time the Club’s home ground was located just east of the Central Hotel with the racecourse bordering it.

After a recess during the war years, the Club reformed in 1947 as Officer-Beaconsfield, competing in the Dandenong & District Football Association, In 1948 it reverted to the Beaconsfield Football Club and achieved its first premiership in 1953 when it defeated Keysborough in the B Grade Grand Final under Captain-Coach Mick Mears.

In 1954 Beaconsfield was a foundation member of the South West Gippsland Football League, along with Rythdale-Cardinia, Cranbourne, Berwick, Tooradin-Dalmore, Narre-Hallam and Officer. It is interesting to note that in the initial year the season only lasted from May 1st to the Grand Final on September 4th and a membership ticket at Beaconsfield was 10s (ten shillings).

Beaconsfield did not enjoy too much success in the 50’s and 60’s, but the 70’s saw them build up as a power. Premierships were achieved in 1974, 1980 and 1981 (all under legendary coach Jim Read, a member of St Kilda’s only premiership). The Club competed in 12 senior final series over a 20 year period. Life Member Brian Southorn was a member of these three premierships, continuing the family tradition established by his father Dick Southorn, in the 1953 side.

In 1993 the club moved to the country atmosphere of the West Gippsland Football League and incorporated their U/15 & U/17 teams along with the revived Netball club into a busy Family Saturday. The club enjoyed immediate success at Reserves and junior team level but it had to wait until 1999 for their initial senior premiership in West Gippsland under coach, Russell Rowe, It was followed up with another Senior premiership in 2001 when coached by Leigh Clifford. The club also won five Reserves, three U/17’s & three U/15 premierships during this eight year period in the West Gippsland League.

A major VCFL restructure saw Beaconsfield join the Mornington Peninsula Nepean League in 2002 and senior premierships were achieved in 2003/2004 under Leigh Clifford, as part of the Peninsula division. The club is now part of the Casey Cardinia Division which closely resembles the area and clubs covered under the former South West Gippsland League, and won its first premiership in that division with the U/18’s team in 2006.

Games Record Holder

Troy Cashman is the Club’s games record holder with 344 senior games along with 4 senior premierships (1999, 2001, 2003, 2004). He also shares the record of Five Senior Best & Fairest with Peter Smith.

Club Colours

In the early years the club jumper was a royal blue with gold BFC monogram and it changed to royal blue and gold vertical stripes in the 1950’s. The club changed to the Tiger’s black with gold sash in the mid sixties, when Richmond made a set available. The uniform had to change again when entering the West Gippsland League in 1993 and the Club reverted to the royal blue and gold vertical stripes. The most recent change occurred in 2000 with the Navy, Gold & White Eagles jumper being adopted.

VFL/AFL Players League players to have graduated from the Beaconsfield club

Barry Allan (North Melbourne); Michael McKenna (Richmond/Footscray); Austinn Jones (St Kilda); Robert Taylor (Richmond); Chris Newman (Richmond); Brendan Fevola (Carlton), Shane Tuck (Richmond) & Brandon White (St. Kilda).


  • 1974 SWGFL
  • 1980 SWGFL
  • 1981 SWGFL
  • 1982 SWGFL
  • 1999 WGFL
  • 2001 WGFL
  • 2003 MPNFL
  • 2004 MPNFL